Trinity Administrator Earns Diakonal Minister Designation



(Beavercreek)—Laura Farrell, Administrator at Trinity Community in Beavercreek, was recently consecrated as a Diakonal Minister by the Council for Health and Human Services Ministries (CHHSM) at a ceremony that took place in mid-December at St. John’s United Church of Christ in St. Louis, Mo. The designation was bestowed upon Farrell after she completed a year-long program focusing on providing leadership by connecting professional excellence with faith-based purpose.

The curriculum for this distinction is administered by the CHHSM Nollau Institute, a Cleveland-based organization related to the United Church of Christ denomination. Named for a 19th century German pastor, Rev. Louis Edward Nollau who founded several major health and social services ministries in the St. Louis area, the Institute provides leadership development for middle and upper level managers of CHHSM member agencies. St. John’s UCC, St. Louis, is the church that Nollau served in the mid-19th century.

Farrell completed her training by attending four retreats held in St. Louis and Wisconsin, and by engaging in on-line dialog and peer mentoring with other consecrated Diakonal Ministers throughout the year. She was one of 19 people to complete the training in 2013.

“We are delighted to have Laura earn this designation,” said Rev. Kenneth Daniel, President and CEO of United Church Homes, which operates Trinity Community. “It reflects United Church Homes’ mission to provide personalized, holistic care to our residents, and will help Laura to continue embracing a faith-based approach to her leadership role.” Farrell has served as Administrator at Trinity for nearly 19 years. United Church Homes traces its founding in 1916 back to German Protestant churches in the Toledo area. Today UCH is one of the largest senior living ministries affiliated with the United Church of Christ.

Based in Marion, Ohio, United Church Homes serves over 3500 people in six healthcare and retirement communities in Ohio, 49 affordable housing communities in 13 states, and manages eleven housing and health care facilities for other owners.